Trip Suggestions

Lake fishing topics and discussions belong in this forum. Please, don't post reports in the forum.
Forum rules
Forum Post Guidelines: This Forum is rated “Family Friendly”. Civil discussions are encouraged and welcomed. Name calling, negative, harassing, or threatening comments will be removed and may result in suspension or IP Ban without notice. Please refer to the Terms of Service and Forum Guidelines post for more information.
sermak
Petty Officer

Trip Suggestions

Post by sermak » Thu Sep 17, 2009 11:32 am

I will be visiting my son who lives in Kirkland from October 7 through October 11. He is new to the Seattle area. We are both experienced fisherman and have a wide variety of tackle and equipment. Since he and I have no experience fishing/hunting in Washington we are looking for some suggestions on where to go and what to target in Washington State during that time. We'd like to fish and do a pheasant hunt if possible. We're open to visiting both the West and the East sides of the state.

Any suggestions on locations to visit, species, lodging, guides, etc. from you Washington sportsmen would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance for your help.

gpc
Admiral

RE:Trip Suggestions

Post by gpc » Thu Sep 17, 2009 11:50 am

The Potholes will be on FIRE durring that time. Great fishing. I am not to sure how bird seasons are, but there is a lot of public hunting w/ pheasant and all other water fowl/upland game.

Quincy will be the same way, fishing not as good but plenty of hunting areas. I have been going to the potholes for 20 years and quincy for 3 years, Ive seen more pheasant in quincy then the potholes.

In the same general area you can get in on some GREAT salmon fishing. The vernita bridge area on the columbia between vantage and yakima is stacked with kings. I dont know about pheasant, but there are plenty of quail.