what opinions do you have on rod building? worth it or not?

Post Fly patterns, photos and directions here
goodtimesfishing
Captain

what opinions do you have on rod building? worth it or not?

Post by goodtimesfishing » Sat Nov 20, 2010 3:12 pm

I have never built a rod before and am considering it. When I add up the prices for the parts, I wonder if it is worth it or not. Of coarse cost is not the only factor in building a rod, there is the personal factor knowing you built it. However I wouldn't want to spend twice as much for a homemade rod, as a store purchased of the same quality. :scratch: Just wondering who out there has built one and what are your thoughts?

jerrysgonefishing
Petty Officer

RE:what opinions do you have on rod building? worth it or not?

Post by jerrysgonefishing » Sat Nov 20, 2010 5:00 pm

I have built a couple. You are right in many cases you can buy an equivelent rod for less sometimes a lot less. I think the best part of building yourself is being able to make it your own. Pick the eyes, reel seat, cork and thread color. Also there is a lot to be said for the satisfaction of catching a fish on a rod you built yourself. If you decide to build your own look into Cabelas and order there rod building catalog. If you go online there are several sites that have vidio leasons on how to lay out and build the rod. Good luck

scott080379
Commodore

Post by scott080379 » Sat Nov 20, 2010 5:17 pm

Gregs custom rods in lake stevens.......one of the best custom places to buid them. They will build it or they give classes on how to build them.

I am in the process of ordering everything for mine and I hope to start building in January or Feb after winter steel.

G-Man
Admiral

Post by G-Man » Sat Nov 20, 2010 5:52 pm