Salmon Tackle Box

Have questions about Saltwater areas, boats, gear or techniques? This is the place for them.
Forum rules
Forum Post Guidelines: This Forum is rated “Family Friendly”. Civil discussions are encouraged and welcomed. Name calling, negative, harassing, or threatening comments will be removed and may result in suspension or IP Ban without notice. Please refer to the Terms of Service and Forum Guidelines post for more information. Thank you
bottombarrel
Petty Officer

Salmon Tackle Box

Post by bottombarrel » Fri Feb 17, 2017 9:51 am

Ok, this may be a futile question but just like the other post I made about Lingcod, what is everyone's favorite rig or setup for fishing the salt for salmon? I am aware this could get a little out of control because there are so many different styles and variations and species. if you had to pick one set-up what is your favorite and why? Remember I am new to this so other than running a white and chartreuse dodger with a 4" Hoochie on the down rigger I dont have much other experience.

fisherman92
Lieutenant

Re: Salmon Tackle Box

Post by fisherman92 » Fri Feb 17, 2017 10:19 am

I don't fish salt a whole lot, but I always use a cut herring behind a flasher on a down rigger or sometimes a deep-6 diver. That's my 2cents.

riverhunter
Commander

Post by riverhunter » Fri Feb 17, 2017 10:33 am

bottombarrel wrote:Ok, this may be a futile question but just like the other post I made about Lingcod, what is everyone's favorite rig or setup for fishing the salt for salmon? I am aware this could get a little out of control because there are so many different styles and variations and species. if you had to pick one set-up what is your favorite and why? Remember I am new to this so other than running a white and chartreuse dodger with a 4" Hoochie on the down rigger I dont have much other experience.