Need advice re: Egg Loops

Post your Jig, Spinners and spoon photos and directions here
sfgregorini
Petty Officer

Need advice re: Egg Loops

Post by sfgregorini » Sat Jun 03, 2017 7:24 am

Im new to tying egg loop knots. Ive tried to watch videos online but every video shows that the line attached to the hook is always a leader. Im not sure how long I want to make my leaders until I get out on the water. What is the best way to just tie off the egg loop once I have secured the yarn or yarn ball? I essentially want to be able to just have hooks with the yarn attached and attach it to my leader when I get on the stream. Any how to videos or specific directions would be great. Thanks
Steelhead Novice.

spokey9
Captain

Re: Need advice re: Egg Loops

Post by spokey9 » Sat Jun 03, 2017 10:26 am

I usually pre-tie my egg loops at about 3 ft or so, but I only use an egg loop for when I'm gonna be fishing bait (eggs, shrimp, or sand shrimp). That's only because I don't don't like how an egg loop holds yarn but that's just my preference. For drift fishing I use a traditional snell knot because it holds the yarn tighter and I like the profile the knot forces the yarn into. The only time the traditional snell has ever failed on me is either I get sloppy tying it or lazy changing out after a fish or hang up.

Here's a link to the snell I use
http://www.netknots.com/application/fil ... tional.jpg
Fishing relaxes me. It's like yoga, except i still get to kill something.

BentRod
Admiral

Post by BentRod » Sat Jun 03, 2017 4:00 pm

Egg loop knots are always incorporated as part of the leader. It's typical to make your leader on the longer side and then cut it down to your desired length on the water. I usually make mine 3'-4' long and adjust accordingly.